Magro Secures 2019 Australian F3 Title

John Magro has clinched the Australian Formula 3 Championship for R-Tek Motorsport with victory in Race 1 at Wakefield Park today, but had to withstand a concerted attack from Josh Buchan aboard the Gilmour Racing Dallara F308/11.

Buchan scored his first F3 pole position in a tightly-contested qualifying session. Magro won the start from the outside of the front row, but Buchan wasn’t to be deterred, punching out multiple fastest laps as he chased Magro all the way to the chequered flag.

However, the Cairns mango farmer resisted Buchan’s attacks, holding on for his 13th-consecutive race victory and securing the title with five races still remaining.

The National Class points lead changed after Roman Krumins collided with his title rival Gerrit Ruff at the Fish-hook. Krumins retired from the race, but Ruff was able to finish second behind Ryan Astley, thus moving back to the top of the standings.

Aaron Prosser solidified his Mazda RX8 Cup lead, qualifying on pole position and taking a pair of lights-to-flag race victories from Lachlan O’Hara and Jake Lougher.

Prosser’s main title rival, Will Harris, qualified third and was challenging O’Hara for second position in Race 1 before spinning off the circuit at Turn 9 on the final lap and falling to fifth. Harris lost further ground with a slow start in Race 2, which saw him plummeting outside the top 10. He recovered to finish eighth, but now faces a 36-point deficit in the standings with three races remaining tomorrow.

Porsche 911 GT3-R driver John Morriss claimed his first GT-1 Australia pole position after the series leader entering the weekend, Matt Stoupas, was involved in a collision with Adam Hargraves (MARC II Coupe) in the first qualifying session.

Stoupas’ Audi R8 suffered rear suspension damage which eliminated him from the second qualifying session; the qualifying points gained by Morriss were enough for him to move into the series lead.

Geoff Taunton qualified his MARC II Coupe second ahead of Rod Salmon (Audi R8).

Craig White extended his lead in the Miniature Race Car Series by winning both today’s races in his Future Racer.

White battled with polesitter Chad Cotton early in Race 1, before Cotton retired with loose engine headers; Aussie Racing Car drivers Peter Griffiths and Matt Thewlis took advantage to move up to second and third positions.

In Race 2, Cotton charged from the rear of the field to second place, finishing just 0.3s shy of White, while Griffiths finished third; Stephen Chilby (Legend Car) ran inside the top four before falling down the order with a late spin.

Adam Walton (Mustang) and Chris Thomas (Torana XU-1) staged an entertaining battle in the NSW Historic Touring Cars, both drivers exploiting the strengths and weaknesses of their cars. Walton claimed a narrow win in Race 1, but retired with mechanical problems in Race 2, handing Thomas an easy win.

Sieders Racing Commodore team-mates Colin Sieders and Glenn Hancox each claimed a win in the Aussie Racing Utes; Wayne Williams retired from Race 1 with a blown engine.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email