Morris Prevails in TA2 Opener at SMP AMRS Event

Nash Morris has taken out the opening PROMAXX Performance Exhaust TA2 Muscle Car Series race, held at the opening day of 2022 Australian Motor Racing Series competition at Sydney Motorsport Park today, leading every lap from pole position.

The race was interrupted by a brief Safety Car when Canberra young-gun Josh Haynes (who qualified second) stopped with a mechanical problem at Corporate Hill; at the restart, Morris pulled clear of the pack while Jett Johnson executed a bold move around the outside of Dylan Thomas into turn four to move up to second place.

Thomas held on for third ahead of Chris Pappas and Zach Loscialpo.

The other race held this afternoon was the Thunder Sports National Series opener; it was won by Stephen Chilby (Chevrolet OzTruck) ahead of George Kulig (Howe Stock Car) and Danny Burgess (Oz Truck).

A trio of practice sessions were held for tomorrow night’s Super GT 4 Hour endurance race and it was defending winners Vince Muriti and Luke Youlden who ended the day fastest overall in their Mercedes AMG GT3, ahead of Geoff Taunton/Chris Pither (MARC II Coupe) and Matt Stoupas/Yasser Shahin (Audi R8).

However, the practice sessions were not without incident; Indiran Padayachee crashed his Porsche 991 GT3 Cup car in the opening session, while Hadrian Morrall shunted Richard Gartner’s Lamborghini in practice three; the Padayachees will return tomorrow in a borrowed Porsche, while the status is uncertain for the Gartner/Morrall entry.

Noah Sands was fastest in Australian Formula 3 Championship practice aboard his Gilmour Racing Dallara F308/11, ahead of Mitchell Neilson and Trent Grubel, while Jarred Danaher topped the Kumho V8 Classic Racing Series practice aboard his ex-Triple 8 FG Falcon from Brad Vaughan (Anderson Motorsport FG Falcon) and Ray Hislop (ex-Larkham Motorsport Falcon).

The Stock Cars and Invited practice times were headed by James Burge, who was more than two seconds ahead of Danny Burgess and Stephen Chilby, with the top three runners all in OzTrucks.

The AMRS program commences at 8:45am tomorrow, with the live stream coverage beginning at 2pm.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email