Round 3 Morgan Park – F3 Preview

In the lead-up to the third round of the Australian Motor Racing Series at Morgan Park, our series commentator Lachlan Mansell will be previewing all the categories right here on the AMRS website, and first cab off the rank is a category with a young local star – the Australian Formula 3 Premier Series.

Toowoomba was kicked into a motorsport frenzy this week when one of their hometown heroes, Will Power, became the first Aussie to win the coveted Indy 500. But another Toowoomba racer, 17-year-old Cameron Shields, is planning to forge his own international career path, and he’ll be on grid for Round 3 of the Australian Formula 3 Premier Series at Morgan Park.

After winning the first two rounds of this year’s F3 series, Shields heads to home turf at Morgan Park with a handy points lead.

“I’m looking forward to racing at my home track – Morgan Park is a circuit where I’ve done plenty of laps, so hopefully I can use that knowledge to extend my advantage,” Shields said.

“The F3 series ran with the opening AMRS round at Winton and it was a really well-run event – all of the officials were organised and friendly, and there was some good coverage with the live online streaming. It’s great for Morgan Park and Warwick to have a national event back on the program.”

Shields’ main opposition in the F3 Series comes from another Queensland driver, Harri Jones – the Sunshine Coast competitor is also in his teens but already has an impressive CV, winning the GT4 class at last year’s Bathurst 12 Hour and racing in the Middle Eastern-based MRF Challenge category over the summer.

Jones has run Shields close in the opening two rounds of this year’s series, winning races at both Winton and Queensland Raceway to trail Shields by just 16 points heading into Round 3.

With their slick tyres and highly-effective aerodynamics, it’s no surprise that an F3 car holds the outright lap record at Morgan Park – a 1:07.9 set by last year’s national champion, Calan Williams.

The F3 Series is divided into three classes – the Premier Class is for cars from 2005-2011, the National Class is for cars from 2002-2007 (’05-’07 cars can nominate either class) and there’s also a Trophy Class for older model cars as well as invitational vehicles, such as F2000, Formula Renault, Formula BMW and Toyota Racing Series openwheelers.


Points after Round 2

Premier Class

1. Cameron Shields – 89

2. Harri Jones – 73

=3. Chris Gilmour – 28

=3. Alex Barboutis – 28


National Class

1. Roman Krumins – 82

2. Bruce McKenzie – 47

3. Jason Hore – 40

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email