Round 3 Morgan Park – Sunday Wrap

Jones Claims Maiden F3 Round Win

Harrison Jones has sealed his maiden round win in the Australian Formula 3 Premier Series, narrowly prevailing over title rival Cameron Shields after a fierce battle between the pair in today’s two races.

Following on from his Race 1 win yesterday, Jones again won in Race 2 despite intense pressure from Shields in the closing laps.

Shields turned the tables in Race 3, beating Jones off the line and leading all 15 laps on a saturated Morgan Park circuit, but Jones’ two victories were enough for him to clinch overall honours.

“Our car was fast all weekend, but today’s track conditions made it a challenge to find the right setup,” Jones said.

“The last race in the wet was tricky, because there were stages where Cameron and I both caught slower cars in awkward parts of the track, which kept it close all the way to the end.

“It’s great to score my first round win, it’s given me confidence I can take the fight right up to Cameron in the Championship.”

F3 debutant Richard Peasey won the National Class in his Gilmour Racing Dallara, while Jason Hore was the round winner in the Trophy Class.


Camilleri Completes GT-1 Clean Sweep

He may have had a longer compulsory pit-stop time than the rest of the field due to his fine qualifying performance, but that didn’t stop MARC II Mustang driver Jake Camilleri storming to decisive race victories in both today’s GT-1 races.

Camilleri left it until the end of the pit window to take his mandatory stop in both 50-minute races, and as a result he led every single lap of the weekend.

Rod Salmon was Camilleri’s closest challenger in Race 1, but a mechanical problem in Race 2 allowed fellow Audi R8 driver Matt Stoupas to finish second overall for the round, while Salmon completed the round podium ahead of Geoff Taunton and John Goodacre, both in MARC I cars.

The most notable incident happened in Race 2, when MARC I drivers Adam Hargraves and Jason Busk collided at Turn 4; Hargraves was forced into retirement.


Jagger and Morse End Burge Legend Car Streak

James Burge’s 12-race winning streak in the Legend Cars Australia Series finally ended when he retired from this morning’s race – the third of the weekend – with a broken axle.

Zane Morse took advantage to win Race 3, while Ben Jagger won Races 4 and 5, along with the Sunday Legend Car round.

Another trio of top five finishes saw the consistent Brendon Hourigan finishing third overall for the round, maintaining his second position on the Legend Car points table.

Rick Christy and Bryan Neal rounded out the top five in the Sunday points, completing consistent weekends.


Experienced Shaw Prevails in Wet RX8 Cup Finale

A heavy shower of rain threw the fourth and final RX8 Cup race into utter chaos, and series leader Ric Shaw found himself bundled back to fifth position after a slow start.

However, Shaw’s experience enabled him to capitalise on other’s mistakes, and he worked his way back to the front by the end of the third lap.

Shaw thus extended his RX8 Cup streak to eight victories; Stephen McLaine finished second overall ahead of Aaron Prosser, who led the opening laps of Race 4 before a mistake handed the lead back to Shaw.

Nick Dunkley and Lachlan O’Hara were both in the thick of the action all weekend, the latter finishing strongly in Race 4 despite a heavy collision with Terry Lewis.


Queensland Categories

Wayne Hennig drove his Porsche 911 GT3 to victory in an epic Queensland Production Sports Car race by just 0.1s, after a thrilling race-long duel with Steve McFadden in which the advantage swung back and fourth throughout the entire 50-minute duration.

After swapping positions a number of times in the early laps, Hennig built a sizeable advantage during a mid-race rain shower. But McFadden clawed his way back into contention in the closing stint, and pressured Henning all the way to the finish.

Also in a Porsche 911, Barry Tanton/Rod Dawson won Class 2B by finishing third outright, while Toyota 86 Series regular James Wilkins upstaged far more powerful machinery to win Class 2F with sixth outright. Running on treaded tyres against the higher-class cars on slicks, Wilkins hauled his 86 all the way up to third during the mid-race wet weather.

Paul Manteit and Paul Kellaway scored one Formula Vee win each, while Greg McIntyre won Race 3 of the Classic Sports Sedans in his OzTruck, ahead of Tim Tritton (Porsche 911) and Steve Hay (Holden VK Commodore). The final race was cancelled due to the wet weather.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email