Round 5 Sydney Motorsport Park – Sunday Wrap

Harlein Victorious in Stadium SUPER Trucks

Gavin Harlein has taken out Round 8 of the 2018 BOOST Mobile Stadium SUPER Trucks by winning Race 2 today.

Harlein worked his way up to second before the mid-race competition caution, and pounced on Blade Hildebrand to take the lead on the restart; he held on for the win ahead of Paul Morris and Cole Potts, while Hildebrand slipped to sixth behind Russell Ingall.

Matt Brabham was classified ninth; he sustained damage after landing awkwardly off a jump, but still scored enough points to finish third for the round behind Harlein and Potts; the latter came into contact with Jeff Hoffman early in the race, but recovered to third after the competition caution.


McElrea survives pressure to clinch Formula Ford title as Herne scores maiden round win

Hunter McElrea has wrapped up the Australian Formula Ford Championship after an intense contest in today’s two races, including a collision with Sonic team-mate and title rival Hamish Ribarits in Race 3, which allowed BF Racing driver Nathan Herne to claim his first race and round win in the category.

McElrea launched into the lead with a blinder start in Race 2, and stayed there after a Safety Car intervention to retrieve the stranded Kent Class car of Tim Hamilton. He took the win ahead of Ribarits to extend his lead to eight points.

In Race 3, McElrea and Ribarits were dicing intently for the lead, Ribarits making contact with McElrea at Turn 2. While McElrea was shuffled back to eighth, Ribarits received a 35-second post-race penalty which handed McElrea the title.

Dylan Fahey capitalised on Hamilton’s retirement to secure the Kent Class crown.


Another TA2 clean sweep for Seton as Jarvis wins 2018 series

Aaron Seton completed another clean sweep in the TA2 Performax Cup, winning both today’s races, but it was Ashley Jarvis who won the series.

Jarvis adopted a conservative approach in today’s two races, finishing fourth behind Seton, George Miedecke and Hugh McAlister.

Jarvis’ results across the four races were enough for him to finish second for the weekend ahead of McAlister, while the other title contender Russell Wright was a retirement from the final race with mechanical problems.


Consistency the key for Koundouris in mixed GT-1 races

A pair of top-three finishes saw Theo Koundouris taking overall honours in the GT-1 Australia Series, in his first round in the category.

Koundouris drove his Audi R8 to third (behind Vince Muriti and Jake Camilleri) in Race 1 and second (behind Nick Kelly) in Race 2 to score more points than any other driver for the weekend.

Muriti finished second overall ahead of Rio Nugara. Title contenders Camilleri and Matt Stoupas both struck drama; Camilleri’s co-driver Jason Busk sustained damage in an incident at the start of Race 2, while Stoupas had to deal with a broken rear wing for the duration of Race 1.


Shaw’s perfect RX8 Cup weekend

Ric Shaw enjoyed another perfect weekend in the Mazda RX8 Cup Series with two more race wins today, but Will Harris pushed him all the way to the flag in the weekend’s final race.

Stephen McLaine finished second for the round with second and third-place finishes in today’s two races, while former Australian Production Car Champion Terry Lewis scored his maiden podium in the category.

Despite sustaining extensive damage in his tangle with Will Cauchi yesterday, Nick Dunkley completed overnight repairs on his Mazda RX8, and finished eighth and sixth in today’s two races.


Regan Angel defeats Legend Car title favourite

Legend Cars Australia points leader James Burge was defeated by Regan Angel in today’s Legend Car round. Angel won the day’s first race, which featured a reverse-grid based on yesterday’s results, with Burge coming from the rear of the field to second place.

In the day’s second race, Burge and Angel tangled on the opening lap; while Angel was able to hold on for another win, Burge fell to the rear of the field and was only able to recover to sixth.

Burge asserted his supremacy in Race 3, but it wasn’t enough to deny Angel the round win; Burge was second overall ahead of Brendon Hourigan.


More Porsche wins for Harburg; Mork, Edwards and Ross win Combined Sedan classes

Following his maiden race win yesterday, Lachlan Harburg added three more to his collection in the IROC Challenge Series. He also won the Classic Porsche Class, while Greg Keene was the winner of the Challenge Class ahead of Nic Marentis and Terry Knight.

Richard Mork scored his third Aussie Racing Utes win from four rounds, with Gavin Ross winning the Group 4 Class in his VY Commodore, and Brent Edwards taking out the Super Six Class in his BA Falcon ahead of fellow Victorians Brendan O’Connor (AU Falcon) and Damian Sullivan (VP Commodore).

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email