Seton Extends TA2 Lead at SMP AMRS Round

Aaron Seton has extended his TA2 series lead to 24 points, winning both today’s races and setting a new lap record for the category in Round 4 of the Australian Motor Racing Series (AMRS) at the Sydney Motorsport Park circuit today.

Seton qualified on pole position, and led all the way in both races, with George Miedecke finishing second in Race 1. Nathan Herne sneaked ahead of Miedecke at the start of Race 2, and held second behind Seton for the duration.

The opening race finished behind the Safety Car after Mark Crutcher’s Dodge Challenger stopped with a mechanical problem at Turn 5.

The Mazda RX8 Cup has a new points leader, Aaron Prosser leapfrogging Will Harris with pole position and a pair of wins in both today’s races. Terry Lewis was second in both races, while Brad Harris was third in Race 1, and Matt Chick – returning to circuit racing after a seven-year absence – impressed with third in Race 2.

After qualifying a lowly 21st due to engine problems, Harris staged an important recovery mission in Race 1, working his way up to ninth. He ran as high as fifth in Race 2 before a mechanical problem on the final lap relegated him to seventh.

Paul Grant-Mitchell was fortunate not to sustain major damage after being turned around on the first lap of Race 2; Grant-Mitchell recovered to finish 12th.

John Magro closed on the all-time record for most-consecutive Australian Formula 3 Championship race wins, taking a decisive victory in Race 1 by more than half a minute from Josh Buchan.

The National Class win went to Gerrit Ruff ahead of Roman Krumins; Ryan Astley was also in the mix for class honours before a spectacular spin at Turn 7; Astley was fortunate not to be collected by Reilly Brook, who avoided Astley’s spinning car with some quick evasive action.

Matt Stoupas claimed pole position for Round 3 of GT-1 Australia, punching out the benchmark time on the very final lap of the second qualifying session to usurp fellow Audi R8 driver Nick Kelly by just 0.2s.

John Morris (Porsche 911 GT3-R) was third ahead of Geoff Taunton (MARC II car).

The opening qualifying session was red-flagged when Jason Busk spun his MARC I car and made contact with the wall at Turn 1.

James Burge took a pair of comprehensive Stock Car race victories in his Oz Truck, pulling away from Brett Mitchell (Oz Truck) on both occasions. David Hender (Pontiac) was third in both races, while Corey Gurney, Danny Burgess and Robert Marchese staged entertaining battles for fourth place in each race.

John Walker drove his older-model Mini to victory in Race 1 of the East Coast Mini Challenge, after early leader Linda Devlin ran wide and lost positions to both Walker and Iain McDougall.

Devlin redeemed herself in Race 2, determinedly pursuing Walker for the entire race and finally out-dragging him to the finish line on the very last lap.

Peter Dane took out the opening Saloon Cars/Production Cars/Utes race in his BA Falcon Saloon Car, but was unable to start Race 2 due to a variable cam timing glitch. As a result, Jaiden Maggs (Commodore Ute) took out the second race ahead of his Sieders Racing team-mate Glenn Hancox, with Christopher Formosa finishing third.

The AMRS action resumes at 8:45am tomorrow, with live streaming via Blend Line TV from 9:45am.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email